Approved-By: devol@DEVOLMAC.ING.UNITN.IT
X-Accept-Language: en-us, en
Date:         Fri, 7 May 2004 19:08:20 +0200
Reply-To: Mauro Bonardi <mauro.bonardi@MI.INFN.IT>
Sender: SCI-list@LIST.CINECA.IT
From: Mauro Bonardi <mauro.bonardi@MI.INFN.IT>
Organization: Università degli Studi and INFN-Mi
              lano, LASA
Subject:      SCI-list Avvisi: Gyorgy von Hevesy Award for Radiochemistry 2004
              to Prof. Attila Vertes, Hungary
Comments: To: Antonio Faucitano <Antonio.Faucitano@UNIPV.IT>,
          Ulderico Mazzi <Ulderico.Mazzi@UNIPD.IT>,
          Enrico Sabbioni <Enrico.Sabbioni@CEC.EU.INT>,
          Piero Antonio Salvadori <salvador@IFC.CNR.IT>,
          Laura Tositti <Laura.Tositti@unibo.it>,
          Armando Buttafava <Armando.Buttafava@UNIPV.IT>,
          Roberto Cherubini <Cherubini@lnl.infn.it>,
          Corvò Renzo
          <renzo.corvo@istge.it>, Paola Scampoli <Paola.Scampoli@na.infn.it>,
          Giustina Simone <Giustina.Simone@iss.it>,
          Laura Guidoni <Laura.Guidoni@iss.it>,
          Raffaele De Vita <devita@casaccia.enea.it>,
          Simonetta Pazzaglia <Pazzaglia@casaccia.enea.it>,
          Andrea Ottolenghi <Andrea.Ottolenghi@mi.infn.it>,
          Mario Coppola <coppolamr@tin.it>,
          Marcello Quintiliani <Quintiliani@mailcity.com>,
          Francesca Ballarini <francesca.ballarini@mi.infn.it>,
          Gianfranco Grossi <Gianfranco.Grossi@na.infn.it>,
          Marco Durante <Marco.Durante@na.infn.it>
To: SCI-LIST@LIST.CINECA.IT

Questo messaggio vi giunge dalla Lista di Posta elettronica della Societa' Chimica Italiana, cui risultate iscritti; la lista di posta "SCI-list avvisi" e' dedicata alla spedizione di messaggi ufficiali della SCI e delle sue divisioni o ad avvisi di congressi, seminari, etc.; e' aperta ai soli soci.
Per ulteriori informazioni collegatevi alla pagina: http://sci-list.ing.unitn.it.
 

***************************************************

Cari Colleghi
il più prestigioso riconoscimento internazionale per la Radiochimica, il
Gyorgy von Hevesy Award, è stato attribuito quest'anno al Collega Prof.
Attila Vertes, Department of Analytical and Nuclear Chemistry, Eotvos
Lorand University, Budapest,
esperto internazionale di Spettroscopia Moessbauer e Spettroscopia di
annichilazione di positroni.

Il Radiochimico Ungherese Gyorgy von Hevesy, Premio Nobel 1943,
scopritore dell'afnio 1923, è ritenuto dai cultori della Radiochimica il
Padre della Tecnica dei Radiotraccianti e "Father of Nuclear Medicine",
per i suoi studi pionieristici compiuti negli anni '20 del'900:
Vedi: G. Stoecklin, S.M. Qaim, F. Roesch, The impact of Radioactivity on
Medicine, Radiochimica Acta, 70/71 (1995) 249-272.

La nomination del Prof. Vertes era stata sottoposta dal sottoscritto al
Comitato Internazionale di valutazione, formato dai principali esperti
internazionali di Radiochimica (con l'appoggio determinante del Prof.
Emeritus Jeroen J. De Goeij , TU Delft, The Netherland e del Prof. Zeev
B. Alfassi, Ben Gurion University of Beer Sheva, Israel).
Di seguito è riportato l'annuncio del conferimento della medaglia.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Dear Mauro, Jeroen, and Zeev,

As the Chair of the Hevesy Medal Selection Panel (HMSP) 2004 and as the
President of the International Committee on Activation Analysis / Modern
Trends in Activation Analysis (ICAA/MTAA), I am very pleased to inform
you that Professor Attila VÉRTES of the Department of Nuclear Chemistry,
Eötvös University, Budapest, Hungary has been selected to receive the
Hevesy Medal Award 2004.  Thank you very much for taking the time to
prepare a detailed submission on his behalf.

The Hevesy Medal and a scroll will be presented to Professor VÉRTES at
the 11th International Conference on Modern Trends in Activation
Analysis (MTAA-11) to be held at the University of Surrey in Guildford,
UK, during 2004 June 20-25.  The Award Ceremony will take place on June
21 (Monday) followed by the Award Lecture.  Prof. Nicholas Spyrou, as
Chair of MTAA-11, will organize the session; I, as the President of
ICAA/MTAA, will chair the ceremony; and Prof. Tibor Braun, as the
Editor-in-Chief of JRNC, will present the Award.

I called Professor VÉRTES on Thursday (May 06) evening at his home in
Budapest to congratulate him.  He said that he was honoured to receive
the Hevesy Medal Award 2004.

The Hevesy Medal Selection Panel (HMSP) 2004 comprised Prof. T. Braun,
Hungary (also representing JRNC); Prof. G. Choppin, USA; Prof. F. de
Corte, Belgium; Prof. M. Ebihara, Japan; Prof. R.H. Filby, USA; Prof. S.
Parry, UK (also representing MTAA-11 Conf), and myself, Canada.

The Panel was invited to review nominations of 5 distinguished
candidates.  A secret ballot was conducted using a weighted voting
procedure.  In accordance with the rules of the Award, the names of the
nominees are kept confidential except, of course, for the name of this
year's awardee.

On behalf of the ICAA/MTAA and HMSP I would like to thank you again for
nominating Professor VÉRTES.

With best regards,
Chatt

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

A. Chatt, Ph.D., F.C.I.C., F.A.N.S.
Killam Professor of Chemistry
Director of SLOWPOKE-2 Facility
Director of Trace Analysis Research Centre
Department of Chemistry
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 4J3, Canada
Office Phone/Fax/Answering Machine: 1-902-494-2474
Secretary Phone: 1-902-494-3306
Alternate Fax: 1-902-494-1310
Time Zone: GMT-4
E-mail: a.chatt@dal.ca; chatt@chem3.chem.dal.ca
http://www.chem.dal.ca/faculty/ac.html

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

--
Mauro L. Bonardi, Dr. Industrial Chemistry, Nuclear and Radiochemist
Universita' degli Studi di Milano and INFN-Milano
Accelerators and Applied Superconductivity Laboratory, LASA
via F.lli Cervi 201, I-20090 Segrate, Milano, Italy
http://wwwLASA.mi.infn.it, Email: Mauro.Bonardi@mi.infn.it
Tel: +39 02 503 19575/500 (centr) /17257 (teach) FAX: +39 02 503 19543

****************************************

SCI-list avvisi ha 2116 iscritti al 25/9/2003.
Per ogni problema rivolgetevi al postmaster:
Claudio Della Volpe
devol@devolmac.ing.unitn.it
+39(0)461882409